What Am I Doing?

Recently, I’ve started asking myself questions about how I’m living my life and I’ve come to the conclusion that I want to change the way I live.

I want to live more ethically, to look after my planet and to love the people in it.

I want to make my life reflect the love that I have for others.

I’m not just talking about the romantic sort of love or the love between close friends, I’m talking about the love that God designed us all to have for each other. The respect and care with which we should be treating not just the people around us but the people who are on every single continent. People whose lives are affected by things we don’t even think about before doing.

I’m not going to lie to you, I’ve told myself many times that I need to live differently and so far, I’ve not been the best at actually sticking to my word. It can be pretty hard to keep up the momentum when you’ve only got yourself to be accountable to. So, I’m starting this blog for three reasons:

  1. To record my progress towards a more ethical life.
  2. To encourage other people to live more ethically, proving that it is possible and doesn’t take away from the richness of life.
  3. To stop myself from going backwards and slipping into old ways.

So, what do I mean when I talk about making my life reflect the love I have for others? Well, just recently, I spent a weekend in London with over 50 other 18-25s. The weekend was hosted by Tearfund and it was an amazing opportunity to learn more about how I can be a better activist and stand up against social injustice right now. The talks hit home in a way that I hadn’t expected and I realised that I wasn’t loving people as much as I could.

The thing that hit me hardest was a talk on the first night. I hadn’t previously put too much thought into climate change, I was more motivated by poverty eradication and I saw them as separate entities. I knew Global warming was going to be a big problem for us in the future and so I did all the good things like recycling, turning off the light when I wasn’t in the room, using more energy efficient light bulbs etc. But I hadn’t really considered that there are so many more things that we can change in our lives that we just don’t because it’s too awkward.

I’ve watched Selena’s story a number of times since that weekend and every time it has impacted me in a huge way. The first time I saw it, I was struck by how much of a hypocrite I was being by saying I cared about the world’s poor whilst still contributing so much to global warming which is ruining their lives. In the west we have so many habits that produce so much rubbish and it’s easy to say “this chocolate bar’s wrapper isn’t recyclable but it’s worth it for the £1 I’m saving.” when actually it’s not ‘worth it’ at all. I have no right to decide whether or not it is ‘worth it’ because it’s not me who will feel the consequences.

So now I know just how much what we do effects people I’m faced with a challenge.

Do I try to forget about it and continue living my comfortable life, unaffected by my actions?

Or do I change the way I live?

Do I get a bit less comfortable, start being responsible and live better for others?

I’m by no means perfect but I want to start honouring the world in the way I live. I make no promises that I will suddenly start living a beautifully ethical life. I’m not going to be anyone’s totally perfect role model. I will no doubt slip up and fail at times. But I am going to try my very best to reach the point where my life reflects the love I have for others and the world we live in. So I welcome you to join me, give me advice or encourage me. I can’t change the world alone but together we can make a difference.

God Bless,

Felicity Honor

2 thoughts on “What Am I Doing?

Leave a Reply

